2012: its a wrap

At the beginning of 2012 I had a couple of little goals.  This blog was one of them.  Another was to start running.  We probably shouldn’t talk about that one, it didn’t go so well.  And the blogging eased off a bit too towards the end of last year.  But my goal was to blog at least once a week, and, on average, I think I managed that.  Almost.  This is my 52nd post, according to the wordpress stats.  Go me!

Anyhow my crafty goals for 2012 mostly involved sewing for me, and knitting for my family.  I think I did OK here too.  Sewing first…

I made three dresses, three!  And three skirts.  And three tops.  Three was definitely the magic number! 

I made clothes!

I made clothes!

There was also fun pyjamas for the kids…

Pyjammies!

Pyjammies!

And bags…

Bags!

Bags!

There was even some quilting. 

how did I become a quilter?

how did I become a quilter?

I’m not sure when I became a quilter, but in 2012 I made two baby quilts, including my first attempt at making up my own design.  The robot quilt was so much fun to make, from sketching little robots to the boxy machine quilting I loved every step.  I also started a bed-sized quilt for my littlest boy Ollie.  The top and backing are done, I just need a quiet child-free day to sandwich the two and start actually quilting it.  Its languished for a while now, mostly because I’m not 100% happy with it.  I’m not sure about some of the colours, and I think I should have done a more interesting design.  I really liked the examples I’d seen for the Mixtape quilt, I still do, but they were smaller quilts, using smaller blocks… the single bed size used 8″ blocks and I think the effect is similar to when you upside a sweater by knitting it in chunkier yarn with bigger needles; you get a bigger sweater, but aesthetically its not always ideal.  Anyhow its on my list of things to finish in the next few weeks, before I let myself start thinking about other projects.

Ollie's quilt top

Ollie’s quilt top

Many of these projects, the clothes for me in particular, were completed during November.  Or Sewvember, as it became.  For a month I sewed and stitched and shared my progress with the other Sewvemberists.  It was a lot of fun, especially when some of us gathered for a fabulous sewing party toward the end of the month.  One of the things I have loved about knitting was the social aspect, knitting with other knitters and sharing the joy and frustration of each project.  For me, Sewvember was a bit like that, and I was sad it was over.  But there are plans for more sewing parties, and I hope we managed to hold one very soon. 

And so to knitting.  My knitting goals for 2012 were set in the public glare of a knitters guild meeting.  They included knitting something for each of my children, cardigans for me, and a lap blanket for our sofa.  Poor Mark didn’t feature, but I intend to rectify that this year.  With the exception of the blanket I can smugly confirm I met all of these goals!

Ollie's vest

Ollie’s vest

There was a vest for Ollie, fair isle with dinosaurs and steeks.  I love this little vest, so much fun to knit and it looked super cute on my little guy.  Steeking was nowhere near as scary the second time.  Its definitely one of my favourite projects from 2012.  Pity its unlikely to fit him come Winter 2013.  Oh well, perhaps I’ll have to knit him another one.

my big boys in their big boy jackets

my big boys in their big boy jackets

Sam and Archie got slightly more grown-up zippy jackets.  I improvised the design, and it probably needs more work; the shoulders are strangely pointy, I think due to the ribbing up the arms. Maybe I’ll leave that off next time.  Anyhow the guys wore them, happily even, so I can live with the Dynasty shoulderline.

Owls - Audrey in Unst - Paper Dolls - Emilie

Owls – Audrey in Unst – Paper Dolls – Emilie

For me it was to be cardigans and lots of them, because thats what I knit, right?  Well, yeah, I did knit cardigans, two of them even.  And one won a prize, a blue ribbon first at the Sydney Royal, no less!  But there was also a couple of sweaters too.  Surprised?  I was too, but I’ve wanted to knit both of these for the longest time and Kate Davies is an amazing designer.  I plan to knit more of her designs, and soon.

I won!

I won!

So that was 2012 in craft for me.  What will 2013 bring?  Well, I think its time I knit my amazing hubby a sweater.  And since we’ll be spending Christmas 2013 in the UK I need to make sure everyone has hats and scarves and mittens.  For me I’d like to knit some colourwork.  And make that blanket for the sofa.  I need to finish Ollie’s quilt.  And make some more clothes for myself too.  With the twins starting school next month, and all the changes that will come with that it might be a bit optimistic, but we’ll see.  Whatever happens, I’m sure it will be fun.  Happy New Year to you, and here’s hoping your 2013 is filled with love, joy, and plenty of time to indulge in whatever takes your fancy!

About crafting, with chocolate

I'm a thirty-something Australian with a mild craft obsession. I knit, I sew, I bake bickies with my kids, and four days a week I pretend to be a serious engineering professional. Its a full, frantic life, but I love it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2012: its a wrap

  1. RoseRed says:

    I think you did amazingly well! I am envious of your output!! I haven’t doubts you will achieve our 2013 goals!

  2. DrK says:

    you are so amazingly productive, and creative. everything you make is so perfect for purpose. you should enter some of your sewing too, for more ribbons 🙂 im pretty sure i want a robot quilt. heres hoping for an equally social, creative and crafty 2013!

Leave a Reply

