sewvember: week 2

Week two of Sewvember and I’m still sewing most days.  It must be some kind of record.  I even got the kids involved!

The week started with a crafting session with Sam and Archie.  They’ve had their kindy transition on Tuesday’s the past few weeks, and we’ve had fun afternoons together afterwards doing big kid stuff without Ollie around.  That includes sewing. Watching a five year old boy wield a needle and thread is a wonderful thing!

watch your fingers guys!

watch your fingers guys!

The plan was to stitch some little felt Christmas trees to some linen, then turn into a decoration to hang on the tree.  The boys drew their trees, I traced the shape to the felt then they cut them out. I love their wonky little trees.  They then stitched them to the linen…  I originally thought they could sew around the trees but that was a bit beyond us so they just randomly stitched away.  I really like the effect, like tiny little decorations.  Then came the buttons (we even braved a trip to Spotties specifically for star buttons).  With a little help they managed to sew the buttons themselves.  I finished them off with some felt on the back and decorative stitching around the outside.  I love them, and will be sad to give some two of them away to the Nanna’s (the guys made two each; one for us to keep and one for each Nanna.  Nanna’s go mad for this stuff!).

finished Chrissie decorations

finished Chrissie decorations

Next up was an attempt at modifying the Washi dress pattern.  I’ve already made one Washi dress as per the pattern, and the body is maybe a tiny bit short, so  Iwanted to lengthen it and try a waistband.  So far its just a muslin in some cheap cotton.  I added about 1.5 inches to the bodice and at 2 inch waistband.  Maybe I added too much.  It needs more work, but I think its getting there. 

lengthening Washi

lengthening Washi

And finally I finished a little festive project I started last year but completely stuffed up.  Sixteen tiny little squares of Christmassy fabric, leftovers from another project.  They beat me.  The other night I unpicked the wonky stitching, pressed everything out and started again, using this great tutorial.  It worked perfectly!  Within a couple of hours I’d finished my little pot holder. 

patchwork pot holder

patchwork pot holder

 And for Week 3…  Some more stitching with the kids?  Definitely.  A dress for me?  Probably.  Who knows.  But I am really enjoying all this sewing.  Yay for Sewvember!

About crafting, with chocolate

I'm a thirty-something Australian with a mild craft obsession. I knit, I sew, I bake bickies with my kids, and four days a week I pretend to be a serious engineering professional. Its a full, frantic life, but I love it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to sewvember: week 2

  1. DrK says:

    i am loving watching your sewvember. (i think my skirt flurry there knocked the wind out of me a bit!) im especially loving seeing how you get the boys involved and what gorgeous things they make. i love your mods to the washi dress too, it sits really well i think! now i better go cut out some fabric i think!!

  2. Bells says:

    it all looks really lovely. You’re doing some great work. I think your dress in particular is really pretty.

  3. RoseRed says:

    Loving the Washi mods. Really really loving the boys sewing and the end product. Great sewing!

Leave a Reply

