sewvember: week 1

Week one of week Sewvember proved to be quite productive; as well as the red top I made a skirt and a birthday bag for a special knitter. Some gorgeous stashed fabric was finally used. I learned some new techniques. And I had fun, in that quiet satisfying way that only making things can provide.

The green fabric from my last post is now a half circle skirt.

half circle skirt!

half circle skirt!

This is pretty much what I had in mind when I bought the fabric a few years ago. Once upon a time I had a great yellow skirt with hydrangeas on it.  I loved that skirt.  It was time to make another one like it. I started with a wide interfaced waistband, based on an a-line skirt, and cut the half circle bit to attach to that. The circle was surprisingly easy… I adapted a pattern for a full circle skirt (from this great book), but used my hip measurement for the inner circle instead of my waist. The half circle was cut in one piece with the radius on the selvedge (the pic below probably makes more sense). Inserting the zipper was a bit fiddly but overall it was surprisingly quick to complete; it took longer to hand stitch the hem than sew the rest of the skirt!

working it all out

working it all out

I am really happy with the finished item. It’s possibly a little big around the waist so I may take it in a bit at some point, and if I do I’ll refit the invisible zipper too (I didn’t do the greatest job) but for now I can live with it. My zippering is a work in progress. This time I tried to stitch the zip to the band and facing, at the same time, but with the interfacing it was all too bulky. I actually sewed the zipper three times before I could zip it up, and managed to break one zipper in the process!

My other finished project was a bag using some beautiful screen-printed hemp/cotton blend from Australiam designers Umbrella Prints. The fabric design is called Fanflower and I’ve had it for a while. It’s just beautiful. I think the bag came out pretty well too.

birthday bag

birthday bag

The bag design is inspired by one I bought years ago, a simple slouchy bag with a little mobile pocket inside. I made this one bigger, to use as much of the fabric as possible. I think it came out a nice size, big enough to use as a handbag or project bag. The black handles and edging are a wide cotton tape, which made the whole construction simple and so quick. I will be making another one for me very soon!

inside

inside

Sew, what’s in store for week two… I think it’s time for a frock, don’t you?

 

 

 

 

 

About crafting, with chocolate

I'm a thirty-something Australian with a mild craft obsession. I knit, I sew, I bake bickies with my kids, and four days a week I pretend to be a serious engineering professional. Its a full, frantic life, but I love it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to sewvember: week 1

  1. RoseRed says:

    Love the bag and skirt!
    I think a ballgown frock next, yes?

  2. DrK says:

    a gorgeous bag, and i want one of those skirts. im already plotting how to copy you. and absolutely time for a ballgown. in time for the weekend even!

Leave a Reply

