on the sewvember bandwagon

After a few days of umming and ahhing, last Sunday I jumped onto the Sewvember bandwagon. Other people were doing it. It looked fun. I like to sew. More importantly I like to buy fabric to sew, but sometimes I need a little kick up the bum to actually sew it. The chance to sew along with other clever crafty folk, remotely and hopefully together too, was too good an opportunity. So I’m in. Yay!

I am aiming to make something each week in November. Mostly clothing for me, but I have a quilt that needs finishing and plans for a bag too so we’ll see where thing take me. I’m not on twitter but I’ll be documenting my efforts here and on Instagram #sewvember. It’s going to be fun!

Sew (heh this is going to get old quick), on that note, here is my first completed project…

little red top

little red top

I drafted a pattern from another top, long since worn out but I loved the shape and neckline, so I kept it with the thought that one day I’d try and make another. And on Monday night, I finally did just that.

The red jersey fabric came from Cabramatta, purchased during a fun day out, complete with great Vietnamese lunch and fabulous company. It’s lovely to wear, light and drapey. Those features made it a challenge to sew though. It seems obvious, but jersey stretches (duh!), and no matter how carefully I pinned it kept shifting around. And unpicking the stretch stitch on my sewing maching was not fun! But I am happy with how my top came out, and today I braved downtown Parramatta at lunchtime to find some black jersey for another one.

I know, its green.

I know, its green. I am sew predictable.

My next project will be a skirt in this pretty green fabric. I had plans for a circle skirt but ha ha I don’t have enough, so perhaps a half circle will have to do. On the plus side there is probably less chance of a Marilyn moment on a windy day. Which is a good thing; I really don’t have her legs!

About crafting, with chocolate

I'm a thirty-something Australian with a mild craft obsession. I knit, I sew, I bake bickies with my kids, and four days a week I pretend to be a serious engineering professional. Its a full, frantic life, but I love it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to on the sewvember bandwagon

  1. DrK says:

    im totally done with skirts now. funny that 🙂 i want to make a top out of this fabric too. kind of similar style too – i was going to draft my own but i have an actual pattern now to use. good to know about the slipping around then, i will be extra careful. love that fabric for any kind of circle skirt really, cant wait to see what you come up with.

  2. rosered says:

    Love the green fabric and the red top looks great. You are my sewing and knitting hero!

Leave a Reply

