untitled

My life has been kind of busy lately, busier than usual anyhow and too busy to think of a good title for this post.  We’ve been doing some minor renovation work at the back of the house, so there has been a stream of tradies and lots of time off work.  Luckily it coincided with me finally reducing my working hours to three days per week (ha, it only took  five months!).  I’m feeling really really good about that, especially as the guys are still in daycare four days, for a few more weeks at least.  We finally got their school enrollments finalised for next year.  And we’ve had more birthdays, two of them in fact.  My babies are five and I’m a bit shell-shocked.  How did that happen?  It seems like only last week they were so tiny…

chicken legs!

chicken legs!

Anyhow there has been a party, cake and too many presents.  Our house resembles a toy shop and I’m feeling a bit guilty at how much stuff they have.  We tried to keep it simple; from us they received bikes and helmets, a game to play together, some books and the obligatory handmade thing, this time new summer pyjamas.  But the party was a big deal with a lot of preschool friends, and they all came bearing presents, some of which were far too generous.  The Sam and Archie were appreciative, but I was a bit embarrassed.  The party was fun though.  We went with a sports theme, and hired a pair of sport billies to run games.  And there was cake.  The guys had a blast, and it wasn’t too stressful for us either.  Everybody wins.

balls!

balls!

burning off some sugar

burning off some sugar

Anyhow, all this time off has meant lots of sewing time, precious daylight sewing time without the boys around.  And I’ve been making the most of it!

First up, the boys pyjamas…  I have always avoided dressing the twins indentically; its just wrong, they’re different people with different personalities, and people tend to have enough trouble differentiating between them as it is, even though they do look quite different.  But they are also brothers who tend to want what the other one has.  My solution is usually same same but different, and mostly it works pretty well.  And there is something pretty cute about three little boys in coordinating pyjamas!

rocking the bed head look

rocking the bed head look

Ollie got some too.  They should have been a birthday present for him as well but I wasn’t organised to make them in time for his birthday!

Its definitely birthday season here; my niece Flossie turned one and I made her a tee.

Flossie's tee

Flossie’s tee

 And we’ve got another party tomorrow, for a Mamma’s group buddie.  I made Edie pyjammies too, but I’m not sure about these.  I was trying something different but I made the cuffs a little bit tight.  I’ll have to fix them tonight, but I’m not sure whether to just hem them or redo the cuffs… are they a bit much?

girlie alert!

girlie alert!

too much?!

too much?!

And in case anyone was worried, you won’t need to kick me out of the knitting club just yet.  There has been knitting, but endless stockinette is not very exciting to do or write about.  Being back in the project office and the longer commute is helping though, and there has been progress.

awkward self portrait

awkward self portrait

I’m not sure what to do with the edgings.  The pattern has a few rows of rib at the sleeve and bottom, a basic pick up-bind off row at the neck and the front edges are left as is.  I am thinking of taking the ribbing all the way around to finish it off, or maybe even a little picot edge.  Or is that too fussy for such a simple thing?  It’s too hot today and I can’t decide.  I think I need ice cream…

About crafting, with chocolate

I'm a thirty-something Australian with a mild craft obsession. I knit, I sew, I bake bickies with my kids, and four days a week I pretend to be a serious engineering professional. Its a full, frantic life, but I love it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to untitled

  1. missfee says:

    YAY for birthdays and bedhead – i love the pjs and the cute baby photos

    And how could we ever think of you leaving the knitting club – horror thoughts indeed

    and yes for icecream I say

  2. RoseRed says:

    Awww, look how little they were! And now so grown up with so much hair!! (Loving the bed head looks!). The pjs are all very cute – even the pink girly ones! (Not too much! Well, except maybe for the pink, heh!)
    Loving the green cardi – I think it’s plain enough to hold a picot edge if you want to do one (I hate doing them myself!).
    And it’s a big yes to ice cream from me!

  3. DrK says:

    firstly yes, you always need ice cream. secondly, oh my god those girly pjs are SOOOO CUTE! and thirdly, who is that small child you are calling Ollie, because i remember him crawling around on the floor and that can not be the same person! where has the time gone zena? your boys are so lovely, and im quietly glad you felt guilty about presents, it bothers me with kids these days, all that stuff. but i love hearing you talk about parenting, you restore my faith with your values. you look lovely in the green as always, and finally, yay for the three days!! sewing party soon yes?

Leave a Reply

