weekend sewing

For a while now I’ve been planning a couple of little sewing projects.  This weekend I finally stopped procrastinating and just did them.

On Saturday, I made a skirt for me.  From start to finish.  Drafting the pattern and everything.  I keep buying fabric with skirts in mind, but have been really nervous about drafting my own pattern, even with a great reference book to hand.  But really it was simple… four measurements, some simple maths and hey presto, I’ve got a pattern for an a-line skirt!  For about 5 seconds I thought about making a muslin, but really the denim fabric I used was so cheap I just jumped right in.  Some tweaking was required, and its still not 100% right, but I now have a totally wearable skirt.  So wearable I wore it yesterday!

my new skirt!

my new skirt!

I kept it simple; no pockets, just a back zipper and some pre-made bias binding around the waist edge (you can’t see it here but its red/white striped!).  I thought about attempting a facing at the waist but the denim is so sturdy I was wary of adding extra bulk, especially around the zipper.  Maybe next time.  I’ll add pockets too, and maybe some buttons because, you know, I like buttons.

Sunday morning Ollie had swimming, and while he was out I took the opportunity to do some big boy craft with the big boys.  I saw this tutorial a while ago, and thought it looked like fun.  And it was.  One day we’ll try the cushion idea in the tutorial, but for this time I had some plain singlets that needed customising…

First, Sam and Archie workshopped their designs.  It was a dinosaur kind of day.

gettting the design right is sooo important

gettting the design right is sooo important

Then they picked some fun fabrics, and I ironed the special adhesive stuff on the back.

supplies

supplies

Next they got to play with scissors, cutting out the shapes. 

snip snip snip

snip snip snip

A bit of stitching around the outside and some buttons and they’re nearly done!

done!

nearly done…

Archie and Sam were so proud of their cool new singlets, and I am so proud of my clever creative boys! 

ready to wear

ready to wear!

About crafting, with chocolate

I'm a thirty-something Australian with a mild craft obsession. I knit, I sew, I bake bickies with my kids, and four days a week I pretend to be a serious engineering professional. Its a full, frantic life, but I love it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to weekend sewing

  1. RoseRed says:

    Go you clever lady and cool kids! Love the self-designed dinosaur singlets! I have that skirt book, have had it for years, and still yet to make anything out of it. But I will, soon too, I hope!

  2. DrK says:

    oh so cute, i love how you teach your boys to make stuff like that. and your skirt is wonderful. im not entirely happy with my alines just yet, i want a denim one like that too, so im hoping to work out the pattern for one this weekend. so many things to make, so little time!

Leave a Reply

