knitting and me

I’m a knitter.  I knit.  I knit on the train, I’d knit on a plane.  In a house or with a mouse.  I knit big things and small things and things in-between.  I almost always have a project in progress, and when I don’t I’m anxious, like the world isn’t quite right.  I like to sew too, and there is often sewing going on, but usually I decide to make something, I make it, then the sewing machine gets put a way for a bit.  There is always knitting.  But why?

pretty yarny goodness

pretty yarny goodness

Is it the yarn?  Why DO I get so enthused by yarn?  I love soft squooshy merino and honest authentic shetland yarn.   Buttery soft alpaca too.  And silk makes everything better.  I’m a complete yarn snob, almost never knitting with acrylic yarn.  I have too much yarn already, I could probably knit for years with the yarn I already have stashed away, and yet I know I will buy more.  Pretty, pretty yarn.  Yarn is definitely part of the knitting story for me.

engineering in progress

engineering in progress

Is it a right-brain/left brain thing?  Maybe.  I’m an engineer, I work at a computer all day, dealing with facts and numbers and mathematical-based concepts.  There isn’t much room for creativity (although it is there, if you look hard enough).  Knitting is tactile.  Its organic.  I still get to use my maths, and having a mathematical brain is probably beneficial in picturing how a project will be constructed.  But really its just so good to do something creative, to make something with my hands. 

handknits in action

handknits in action

Is it the finished product?  I try to knit things relatively practical things for myself and others that will actually get used.  Which doesn’t mean they can’t be fancy or pretty.  But its important to me that things are worn rather than left in a drawer, and I do wear most of my handknits. 

Is it the process?  One stitch then another and another and another.  Like breathing.  So easy to get lost in that process; garter stitch is the closest I come to meditation.  I’m sure just thinking about knitting brings my heart rate down. 

knitting in the pub!

knitting in the pub!

Or is it other knitters?  Definitely.  Yesterday I caught up with some of the best knitting peeps ever.  There was lunch, wine, cider, hot chocolate mousse and lots of talk about life, the universe and knitting.  I feel so lucky to be able to count such an amazing group of knitters as friends.  And as someone who can be shy and awkward and doesn’t make friends easily, that is a big deal.  Knitters are definitely a big part of why I love knitting so much.  Yay knitters, you rock!

About crafting, with chocolate

I'm a thirty-something Australian with a mild craft obsession. I knit, I sew, I bake bickies with my kids, and four days a week I pretend to be a serious engineering professional. Its a full, frantic life, but I love it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to knitting and me

  1. missfee says:

    yay for knitting knitters and lots of fun

  2. RoseRed says:

    From one shy, awkward person to another, I salute you! And knitting, which rocks!

  3. LynS says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever considered myself to be shy, but I too find the company of knitters wonderful. I really enjoy our conversations. Nothing seems to be off limits, and I love the way every topic is interspersed with observations and asides about knitting. And whatever it is you are knitting is always inspirational.

  4. DrK says:

    i knit for all those reasons too, especially the brain unwind after a day of thinking. i love knitting by myself but its almost always better in a group with people like us, people like you xx

  5. welovefelix says:

    Where’s the ‘like’ button?

Leave a Reply

