finishing things

I’ve spent the last week or two in knitting limbo.  Again.  I’ve got yarn.  I’ve got patterns favourited in Ravelry.  But they didn’t align.  And I really really wanted to use some gorgeous green Spud and Chloe Fine thats been sitting in my stash for months.  The colour is called Grasshopper, and for me its the perfect green.  Its just longing to be a lightweight little spring cardigan.   Something I can throw over a top or dress when there is still a chill in the air before summer hits.  But the right pattern still eludes me.

Anyhow all this indecision has been driving me crazy, so in an attempt to get my head in order I decided to finish some things.  These are all things I thought of as finished, but really that was just the knitting.  There was still other finishing to do.  So in a flurry yesterday morning I finished a couple of other projects that have been lingering for a while, almost finished.  First up is Ellie.

Ellie!

Ellie!

Isn’t she cute?  This is the fifth Elijah Elephant I’ve made, and I still enjoyed watching the little elephant evolve.  Such a clever pattern by Ysolda Teague.  She’s been finished except for eyes for about a month, so yesterday I stitched her some and within 5 minutes she was done!  I have no idea who this is for, but with three friends announcing pregnancies in the last few weeks surely someone would like a little pink Ellie when they arrive. 

Next up some Veyla mitts for Mum’s birthday.  Another cleverly constructed Ysolda pattern.  Mum picked the pattern and requested red.  Some leftover Jitterbug in Vatican Pie was just begging to be knit into fingerless mitts.  These had been almost finished for weeks, just awaiting buttons but not any more.  I hope she likes them.

Veyla

Veyla

And finally my OWLS…  I am embarrased to admit it took longer to buy and sew the buttons on that it did to knit this thing.  I think I was a bit daunted by the thought of 36 buttons to sew.  But a quiet hour in a sunny spot and it was done.  At first I wasn’t sure if I needed all of them, but who was I kidding; I’m a a button girl, and just one owl with button eyes was never going to be enough!

Please forgive the dodgy self portrait.   My arms aren’t long enough to avoid the gratuitous boob shot…   

Hooters!

Hooters!

And one final photo, because he’s just too cute. 

Superhero Mittens!

Superhero Mittens!

About crafting, with chocolate

I'm a thirty-something Australian with a mild craft obsession. I knit, I sew, I bake bickies with my kids, and four days a week I pretend to be a serious engineering professional. Its a full, frantic life, but I love it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to finishing things

  1. LynS says:

    The finishing off makes all the difference. They look sooo complete. The small pearlshell buttons were an excellent choice for the o w l s.

  2. RoseRed says:

    Gee whiz, lady, if you don’t get a project or five on the sticks stat, I (with my non-existent power to do so) am going to have to throw you out of the knitters club!!

    I love the veyla mitts – perfect red for them! I bought that pattern two years ago, fully intending to make a pair for my OB…did I ever do that? Of course not! But really must make a pair for myself.

    Go you with the buttons – it would probably take me a year to sew on 36 buttons!

  3. DrK says:

    heh. love your hooters 🙂 i saw something yesterday that might fit the bill for that spud & chloe, its a gudrun johnston so up your alley – see what you think: http://www.theshetlandtrader.com/blog/?page_id=1289

Leave a Reply

