the seven day sweater

Seven days.  Seven!  That’s all this baby took.  Twit twoo!

Hoot!

Hoot!

It’s a bit rediculous really, I only cast on 116 stitches for the body.  Its like a baby knit, just bigger.  And its finished.  Well, sort off.  It still needs blocking and button eyes.  But seven days to knit a me-sized sweater whilst also going to work, managing the family stuff and sleeping?  I can’t really get my head around that!

those O W L S up close

those O W L S up close

The Specs?  Of course its O W L S by Kate Davies.  I made mine with Jamiesons Shetland Marl in Amethyst, on 6.5mm needles.  I started out knitting the 36″ size, but quickly realised that this was going to be a bit too snug around my hips, so frogged back and started again in the next size up.  Which meant I had to jiggle the shaping a little to end up with the right number of stitches for the 36″ size at the bust.  I made mine a bit longer too. 

the arty shot

back shaping

Thanks Miss Funky for the finished O W L S photos!

The best bit about finishing this sweater on Saturday night?  I had a stash of wonderful knitters to cheer me home!  After months of planning and many many emails, we were enjoying a weekend away in Kangaroo Valley.  A whole weekend of knitting, laughing, eating, more knitting, drinking wine, more knitting, more laughing… I was so busy with all the knitting and laughing and eating I hardly managed to take any photos!

Thank you lovely ladies for a fabulous weekend!

Kangaroo Valley locals

Kangaroo Valley locals

About crafting, with chocolate

I'm a thirty-something Australian with a mild craft obsession. I knit, I sew, I bake bickies with my kids, and four days a week I pretend to be a serious engineering professional. Its a full, frantic life, but I love it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to the seven day sweater

  1. rosered says:

    Amazing! I’ve made adult sized hats with more stitches than that!! I bet it is snuggly warm too!

  2. DrK says:

    it was amazing to see you finish it so quickly, and it looks fantastic on. so great to be your roomie this weekend too xx

  3. Bells says:

    wow that’s amazingly fast – and it looks lovely. Can we see pics when the eyes are done?

Leave a Reply

