keeping busy

While I try to decide which yarn to use for O W L S*, I’ve been keeping busy knitting some quick birthday hats.  This morning I bribed** the twins to model them for me…

Its the Turn a Square pattern from Jared Flood.  Such a great simple design and perfect for using up those oddments from other projects.  The hats are for my Dad and brother, and they’re not really a surprise so its OK to talk about them here.  Archie is modelling my Dad’s hat, knit in leftover Rowan Pure Wool DK, leftover from the boys sporty jackets.  My Dad has a big head and I made this big, possibly too big.  They’re visiting next week, so I can rip out the ribbing and shorten it if necessary.  Sam is modelling my brothers hat.  This one is knit in leftover Cascade 220 (black) and some random grey-green yarn of unknown origin. 

Hooray for warm heads and leftovers!

* I still haven’t decided, but leaning towards the purple.

** It is amazing what a 4 yo will do for a jelly dinosaur.

About crafting, with chocolate

I'm a thirty-something Australian with a mild craft obsession. I knit, I sew, I bake bickies with my kids, and four days a week I pretend to be a serious engineering professional. Its a full, frantic life, but I love it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to keeping busy

  1. LynS says:

    Hooray for Turn a Square and leftover yarn. There’s such satisfaction in improvising yarn fragments into pleasing combinations for this pattern.
    The purple is good, but I meant to mention earlier that I also like the natural/fawn colour – the first one you bought.

  2. RoseRed says:

    Heh heh, very cute pics! Must remember the jelly dinosaur trick!

    The hats are great – such a good pattern!

Leave a Reply

