another little quilt

yep, another little quilt for another new little person! 

I became an auntie again recently.  Well, an honourary auntie anyhow.  Marks bestie and his wife just had their second child, a perfect little girl called Sophia Lily. 

supplies

supplies

We didn’t know if Sophia would be a boy or a girl, and well that sometimes can be a problem when you want to give a handmade present.  These things take time and planning.  When their first daughter Emily was born four years ago, I had been on maternity leave and had time to knit a blanket in a gorgeous (and gender neutral) red.  It took about two months.  This time I made a little quilt.  It took four days.  Four!  Nights actually, since sewing when the kids are around is difficult.  Four days to cut, sew, sandwich, quilt and hand-finish the binding.  And look, its done!

a finished baby quilt!

a finished baby quilt!

I have no idea what the fabric is, but the little birds and apples are cute without being twee, and the colours are pretty and bright without being oppressively pink.  The pattern is a freebie by Oh Fransson, published here.  Such a cleverly simple design.  The seaming was rediculously easy, its all straight lines and no tricky corners to match up.  I quilted as per the pattern and the straight-line quilting is pretty wonky, but hey its supposed to be.  Although maybe mine is a little wonkier than intended; its a bit puckery too (is that even a word?).  I think next time I’ll try quilting all the lines in one direction instead of sewing up and back. 

the back

the back

I hope it Sophia likes her colourful little quilt to roll around on!

I made some cards too…

bunting!
bunting!

Everything’s better with bunting, right?!

About crafting, with chocolate

I'm a thirty-something Australian with a mild craft obsession. I knit, I sew, I bake bickies with my kids, and four days a week I pretend to be a serious engineering professional. Its a full, frantic life, but I love it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to another little quilt

  1. LynS says:

    Oh, bunting! Love the bunted cards. But the quilt is even more spectacular. I can’t imagine making anything so beautiful in four nights. I suspect I’d still be dithering about the design after only four nights. Such a wonderful gift.

  2. roseredshoes says:

    I’m. Ot sure if I’ve mentioned this before, but YOU ARE AMAZING!
    And so is this quilt – love it so much!

  3. DrK says:

    OMG just stop it already! seriously, you are an amazing craft machine, with impeccable taste and style. everything you do is just PERFECT!! (yes. everything is better with bunting).

  4. Bells says:

    that’s just so simple and pretty. It’s remarkably similar to a little girlie quilt I’m making (and regret is taking so long, esp given you did yours in four nights. WOW!). Great work.

Leave a Reply

