three down: the athletic archie jacket

Its done!  I finished sewing the zipper in last night, and today Archie finally got to wear it!

a couple of cool dudes

a couple of cool dudes

I didn’t get to take too many photos as Archie wasn’t really in the mood, but we made the most of the winter sunshine and took a trip up the coast to find some fish and chips.

why I don't bother blocking until AFTER its been worn

why I don’t bother blocking until AFTER its been worn

I used Rowan pure wool dk for both the jackets.  Its a lovely soft squishy wool, there’s nothing fancy about it but it knits into a gorgeous fabric.  And not the slightest hint of itch either.  Perfect.

Archie’s jacket is essentially the same as Sam’s, but to keep things interesting for me I knit this one top-down, starting with the collar in 2×2 rib.  Once it was long enough I left the working yarn to come back to later and knit the saddles in 2×2 rib, casting off the back stitches as I went.  I then came back to the working yarn from the collar and knit to the first saddle, picked up stitches along the side, knit the end in 2×2 rib, picked up stitches all along the back (from saddle and collar) and round to the front.  Then came a LOT of short row shaping, for the shoulders and neckline, as well as increasing for the set sleeves.  It all sounds a lot more complicated that it really was, and having a finished garment to work from helped enormously.  Even so, it took 3 attempts to get all the short-rows to work out with the right number of stitches at the end!  Once the short-rows were done it progressed like a normal top-down seamless thing, separating for the shoulders, etc.  The 2×2 ribbing from the shoulder saddle continued down the arm to the ribbing at the wrist.  There is a matching stripe in 2×2 rib down the side of the body.

The top-down seamless construction was fun, but I’m not sure it was more effective for the extra thought involved.  The shoulders do the same pointy thing as Sam’s, which was knit seamlessly from the bottom-up.  I think its due to the relatively sharp angle at the shoulders, and the inherent structure of the ribbing.  I probably needed to round the shoulders out more.  Ah well, next time.  And blocking should help too.

So thats all three boys with a new handknitted thing to keep them warm.  I think I’m ready to knit something for me again now!

About crafting, with chocolate

I'm a thirty-something Australian with a mild craft obsession. I knit, I sew, I bake bickies with my kids, and four days a week I pretend to be a serious engineering professional. Its a full, frantic life, but I love it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to three down: the athletic archie jacket

  1. roseredshoes says:

    Yay! Great job mama! Definitely time for something for yourself!

  2. yogaknitdra says:

    Very cool boys in their hand knits. Yes, time for self knitting!

  3. DrK says:

    they just look so cool! you are such a good knitting mama. now get cracking on that little birds!

Leave a Reply

