knitting therapy

Thanks for the kind words after my last post.  As soon as I hit the “publish” button I wasn’t sure if I should have.   But I’m glad I did.  I often get the “I don’t know how manage to do it all” comments, and well, the fact is that sometimes I don’t manage very well at all.  That whole thing about having it all?  It’s bollocks.  Something has to give out.  And in this case it was me.  But after a couple of big big sleeps, a weekend of just hanging out with the guys and a whole lot of knitting therapy, I’m feeling a lot better.  We’ve tried a few little changes at home to make the mornings smoother, and so far so good.  And I’m looking at maybe shortening my working day so I can pick the kids up earlier to give us more time in the evenings too.  Before they get so tired they meltdown over every. little. thing.  So they can go to bed earlier, and I can too.  Unless of course there is important crafty stuff to do.

progress!

progress!

And there is always important craft stuff.  Most importantly I need to finish Archie’s jacket ASAP.  Sam has hardly taken his off since I finished it, and considering how he usually is with new stuff I’m looking at that as a massive win.  But everytime he puts it on, Archie asks when his will be ready.  In his best “asking nicely” voice.  Please Mum.  Pleeeeeeeease.  I really need to finish it.  But I’m still working my way down the body/sleeve shaping.  Not helped by knitting the short-row shoulder and neck shaping THREE times before I got the right number of stitches at the front and the back! 

a study in short-row shaping

a study in short-row shaping

But I’m pretty happy with it now, and I’m only about 6 rows away from separating the sleeves from the body.  With the tricky bit out of the way it should be relatively quick from here.  Provided I don’t get distracted by all the other shiny things.

squishy goodness

squishy goodness

Like this, which arrived this week.  Three skeins of gorgeously squishy cormo.  My pledge from the Ton of Wool project.  Grown, scoured and milled in Australia.  I have no idea what I’m going to use this for, but I’m enjoying giving it a squeeze everytime I walk past it.  Mmmmm yum.

About crafting, with chocolate

I'm a thirty-something Australian with a mild craft obsession. I knit, I sew, I bake bickies with my kids, and four days a week I pretend to be a serious engineering professional. Its a full, frantic life, but I love it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to knitting therapy

  1. DrK says:

    i just so love that combination of brown and blue, thats going to be so lovely. and it must be so gratifying who have little ones who want you to make them stuff. i dont know what to do with my cormo either but it is beautifully soft isnt it? hope the changes are helping, and you’re feeling better about everything. xx

  2. RoseRed says:

    I love those colours together too! Knit faster mummy, plllleeeeeeeeeaaaaaaasssseeeee! Heh heh. I am sure you will have it done, perfectly, in no time at all, you clever clever clogs!

  3. knitabulous says:

    Brown certainly likes blue, and I can’t wait to see this one finished too. I read your last post and I feel for you so much. It does pass, but that blur of work/daycare/cooking/cleaning/bath/storytime/relationship time/knitting time/sleep rinse and repeat is such a hard time. I’m so glad you got a bit of time to breathe this week. X

  4. Bells says:

    Nothing wrong with putting it out there occassionally. the universe can provide then with some support and some sanity. I think the changes you’re making sound very sensible.

Leave a Reply

