two down: the sporty sam jacket

Things have been pretty hectic lately; a sick little boy, too many rediculous deadlines at work, then I got sick.  There was a trip to the zoo, a fabulous lunch/shopping date with a fabulous girlfriend and my industry’s annual conference too.  But somehow I managed to finish Sam’s jacket.  And he seems to like it too.  Hooray!

Happy Sam

Happy Sam

I’ve been quite nervous knitting this one.  I liked the way it was coming together, but Sam is a tough critic.  He’s only four, but he is VERY particular about what he wears.  He’s suspicious of anything new, and often has to be coaxed, cajoled or bribed into wearing something for the first time.  Even when he picked it out in the shop.  So there was a real chance that he’d point-blank refuse to wear this jacket, no matter how happy I was with it.  So it was a surprise and a relief when he not only agreed to try it on for a progress fitting (after some convincing I wouldn’t stick him with the needles), but was happy too!

ha ha Mum, its not finished!

ha ha Mum, its not finished!

The jacket was knit seamlessly, from the bottom up.  Body and sleeves were knit to the underarms, then joined together and the set sleeve shaping worked in one piece.  I finished up with a saddle shoulder. I was trying to be clever, keeping the ribbed panels running up the length of the sleeve and over the shoulder, like a sporty tracky top.  I think it works, sort off.  The shoulders are looking a bit pointy at the moment, but they should settle down after blocking.  What, its not blocked yet?  Ah, no.  Its for a 4 year old boy.  I’ll probably need to wash it after each wear, so he may as well get one wear in before I block it!

sporty shoulders

sporty saddle shoulders

Sam hasn't noticed the pointy 1908's style shoulders yet

Sam hasn’t noticed the strangely pointy shoulders yet, but maybe Ollie has…

Maybe if I’d spent more time thinking about the design I would’ve knit this top-down, starting with the saddles then picking up the stitches for the front and back.  I’m not 100% happy with the saddles, in particular the line of slipped stitches.  I still need to knit another jacket for Sam’s twin, so maybe I’ll try that for Archie’s jacket.  It should make for an interesting comparison of the top-down vs bottom-up techniques, and keep me motivated to finish.

So, it nearly winter and I’ve finished garments for Ollie and Sam.  Just Archie’s to go, then there will be time for some Zena knitting!  Paper Dolls or Owls?  Decisions, decisions…

where's MY new jacket, Mum?!

where’s MY new jacket, Mum?!

About crafting, with chocolate

I'm a thirty-something Australian with a mild craft obsession. I knit, I sew, I bake bickies with my kids, and four days a week I pretend to be a serious engineering professional. Its a full, frantic life, but I love it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to two down: the sporty sam jacket

  1. roseredshoes says:

    It is so cute! Looks great on him, and I love the sporty sleeve “stripes”. You are too clever! Please write up pattern for the next one, I can test it for you, for my own fussy little person!

  2. DrK says:

    oh look at your beautiful boys! how quickly they’re growing up. i love the stripes too, you ARE clever! look forward to seeing the next one. and for you? paper dolls!

  3. knitabulous says:

    How WONDERFUL that you are blogging, and have been for months. I didn’t even know, and I feel bad. This jacket is gorgeous, with all the detailing we’ve come to expect and adore from all your knitting. I concur with Jane, write it up! xx

Leave a Reply

