roar: a vest for ollie

A while ago I started a little vest for my littlest boy.  With fairisle dinosaurs chasing each other round and around.  The pattern is my own, based on dimensions needed to fit over a size 2-3 tee shirt.  I charted the t-rex pattern last year, when Sam wanted a beanie with dinosaurs.  The peerie was something I found on Ravelry when I first looked for a dino chart.  How cute are those tiny little brachiosauruses?!

finished!

finished!

Yesterday morning I finally sewed in all the ends, and the buttons.  They’re oddments from the button box, but Ollie doesn’t mind.  I think he likes his new vest!

happy Ollie

happy Ollie

This was a really fun thing to knit.  Fairisle, steeks (four of them!), interesting ribbing.  And quick.  Oh how I love toddler knits. 

serious monkey business

serious monkey business

In particular I really, really enjoyed cutting all those steeks.  A strange knitted thing becomes a wearable garment in four easy (if slightly scary) snips…

before

before

after!

after!

One thing I’d do better next time is the open shoulder.  I always do small people vests with  buttons over one shoulder, my boys have big heads and we’ve been caught out before.  I did a three-needle bind off for the fixed shoulder, then knit back and forth for a few rows before binding off the open shoulder.  Then I cut the steeks.  This made the shoulder quite bulky, with the overlapping buttonhole, AND overlapping steeks.  In hindsight I should have bound-off straight away, cut the steeks then picked up the stitches needed for the overlapping buttonhole bands.   Oh well.  It looks a bit better now after a steam block with a heavy iron.  And Ollie doesn’t mind.  But next time I’ll do it better.

buttons!

buttons!

Everybody roar, like a dinosaur!

Roar!

Roar!

About crafting, with chocolate

I'm a thirty-something Australian with a mild craft obsession. I knit, I sew, I bake bickies with my kids, and four days a week I pretend to be a serious engineering professional. Its a full, frantic life, but I love it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to roar: a vest for ollie

  1. roseredshoes says:

    You are too clever! Your own design, with FOUR steeks! You are amazing! It looks fantastic and fits so perfectly!

  2. lynshoemark says:

    This looks wonderful – so creative (and brave) on your part and such fun on Ollie’s. So well done.

  3. LynS says:

    This is wonderful. Very creative (and brave) and your part, and such fun for Ollie.

  4. Very cute! Love it.

  5. welovefelix says:

    Too clever love, how can the rest of us mere mortals keep up? Gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

