careful, it’s contagious

Some knitters I know have been knitting bunting for this years RAS Easter Show feature display, gorgeous garter stitch triangles (bunts) that will be strung together.  I had already committed to knitting something for the display, and my show entries are still on the needles, so I thought I’d give the bunting a miss, after all there were plenty of other bunters, they didn’t need me to bunt too. 

But then I saw them.  A dozen or so bunts strung up at Guild, and bunterism gripped me; I really, really wanted to be a part of it too.  So forgetting my other commitments, I cast on my first bunt.  Then my second.  And third.  After three I got a bit bored with just knitting them plain, and started to experiment with spots.  Would intarsia work in garter stitch?  Why, yes, it does! (just don’t look too closely at the back, its kind of sucky).

spots!

At the height of the fever, I even attempted something really silly.  It didn’t really work, and luckily for me the fever broke and I found myself in a cold sweat at the thought of all the other knitting I need to do in the next few weeks.    

I am completely insane

 I don’t really think bunting needs birds on it, do you?

pretty bunts all in a row

So now I’m back in sleeveland… round and round and round and round and round.  I’m getting a bit frustrated with this cardigan.  It doesn’t seem particularly well written, and I’ve been caught out a few times now by the way the different instructions for different sizes are presented.  I do think its going to be a very wearable cardi, but I’m not enjoying the knit so much.  And that bothers me a little.  Its why we do this, isn’t it?  

sleeve and neckband, at the same time!

About crafting, with chocolate

I'm a thirty-something Australian with a mild craft obsession. I knit, I sew, I bake bickies with my kids, and four days a week I pretend to be a serious engineering professional. Its a full, frantic life, but I love it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to careful, it’s contagious

  1. RoseRed says:

    A spotty bunt! Love it! You put my regular old plain ones to shame. And we SO NEED a bunt with a bird on it!

  2. DrK says:

    oh but it would be SO great to have one with a bird on it. if anyone can do it, you can! thats a shame about the pattern, but the finished cardigan is going to be gorgeous. sometimes we do it for the pleasure the wearing will bring. sleeveland is no fun for anyone. ever.

Leave a Reply

