oops. I seem to have accidently bought yarn.

Yesterday the postie brought me a parcel.  It’s the third one this week.  Oops!

The exchange rate between Australia and the rest of the world is particularly good for us at the moment.  Especially against the British pound and US dollar.  It makes a nice change, and I’ve been taking advantage of it.  I like to think I’m stimulating the UK and US economies, they certainly need some help!

First up is six skeins of Harrisville New England shetland.  I have a plan for this, Paper Dolls by Kate Davies.  Four skeins in Suede (which looked a much cleaner grey online but I do like the hint of brown) and one each in Waterlily and Raspberry.  I bought it directly from Harrisville; their website doesn’t mention shipping to Australia explicitly (only US and Canada) but I emailed them and they were happy to ship here with reasonable rates too.

i heart shetland wool

Next is six balls of BC Garn Semilla in Duck Egg Blue.  It’s a sport/light DK organic wool from Denmark with a lovely beady twist to it, really beautiful stuff.  I bought this on a whim from Loop London… I needed two extra balls for Ollie’s dinosaur vest and well, I couldn’t just buy two balls of yarn (I’m sure there’s a law against it).  I have no idea what to knit with it but I have enough for a cardigan (of course).

organic goodness

There have been books too.  My guys really love books and I buy a lot of them.  I usually try to support local independant bookshops, but I’m pretty time poor and usually its a choice between ducking into Dymocks in my lunch break or paying half the price online (with free shipping to my door) and spending my lunch break actually eating my lunch.  No contest.  I was particularly excited about buying our first Roald Dahl, he was my favourite author as a kid (and would probably still rate highly in my top ten).  Of course, I had to buy a knitting book too.

chimpanzees, lions, crocodiles and knitting

These socks may just be able to tempt me back to sock knitting.

ooh pretty

This is a really sweet book with some cute patterns, but I really like the stories about how some of the clever knitting peeps around today were inspired by the knitters they grew up with.  My Nanna knitted, Mum does too sometimes.  I choose to knit very different stuff to them, but I like the idea we’re all just knitting and purling.  My knitting IS my grandmothers knitting.

This joined the stash recently too.  Four skeins of Spud and Chloe Fine in Grasshopper.  Merino and silk in the perfect shade of green.  I have no pattern in mind for this as yet, but it is destined to be yet another cardigan.  I do love a cardi!

perfect green

So now I have no excuse to lament “I don’t know what to knit!”

About crafting, with chocolate

I'm a thirty-something Australian with a mild craft obsession. I knit, I sew, I bake bickies with my kids, and four days a week I pretend to be a serious engineering professional. Its a full, frantic life, but I love it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to oops. I seem to have accidently bought yarn.

  1. RoseRed says:

    Such good purchases! But what to knit first?!

    I buy lots of books for Connor too. I haven’t really been tempted by online books yet, because I try to support the bookstores here too. But it won’t be long, I’m sure.

  2. missfee says:

    what great purchases – love the paper dolls selection

    where did you get the spud and chloe from? I am after some for a jumper!!!

    and yay for socks

  3. DrK says:

    oh i love that spud and chloe fine. im trying not to buy anymore until im in the shops in NY this june and will stock up. but i am seriously tempted by that harrisville, so so lovely! what a gorgeous choice of colours for you.

Leave a Reply

