my other new years resolution

Starting this blog and committing to post at least once a week was a 2012 new years resolution.  My other resolution was to start running.  The blog is chugging along, so how is the other resolution going?  Actually, its going OK.

A bit of background first.  I’m not sporty.  At all.  Hated sport at school and have avoided it since.  I do like to walk, but I prefer to walk as a means of getting from a to b than as exercise, if that makes sense.  My life is pretty active, but its not the sort of activity that gets my heart rate up, and lately I’ve become more aware of myself getting older.  I’m within a so-called healthy weight, but I don’t think that’s necessarily an indication that I’m actually healthy.

I’ve been thinking about this for a while, years probably.  And I’ve been using the kids and work and all the other stuff going on in my life as an excuse not to exercise.  I’d love to run but I just don’t have the time.  Which is kind of pathetic really, its just about priorities.  People sometimes comment that with three kids they don’t know how I find time to knit, but I do because its something I enjoy, so I prioritise it.  This is no different, its just taken me a really long time to realise it.

I’ve also been inspired by a couple of friends, who also combine knitting with running (although not simultaneously, at least not yet!).

It really has been a really long time since I did any form of proper exercise.  I don’t think I’ve worn trainers since I was pregnant with the twins, we’ve moved house twice and I couldn’t find them anywhere.  I did have a sports bra but it practically disintegrated when I tried to put it on.  I actually had to go buy some stuff, just to go for a run!  New trainers and some lovely sporty spice gear.  I may run like Mr Bean, but at least I look the part.

I’ve been trying to run at least twice a week.  So far so good.  I currently walk more than I run, but I’ve worked out a good route that involves some hills, some flat, some scenery.  Its about 6km and took me about 50 minutes yesterday.  Thats nearly 10 minutes less than the week before, so I must be running more and walking less.  I certainly feel better for it, and really thats the important thing.  I just need to make sure I keep it up when the weather gets colder and the mornings darker.

And so this post isn’t just about sport, here’s a progress shot of my current cardigan…  Love love love that red!

About crafting, with chocolate

I'm a thirty-something Australian with a mild craft obsession. I knit, I sew, I bake bickies with my kids, and four days a week I pretend to be a serious engineering professional. Its a full, frantic life, but I love it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to my other new years resolution

  1. RoseRed says:

    SUCH a good red!

    Go you on the running, that is fantastic.

  2. missfee says:

    oh wow do love that red

    and yay for the running – if you want company at all I can meet you at the cooks river for a jog

  3. drk says:

    Good for you on the running, not least because it is something for you, and worth prioritising. You’re going to look amazing in that red.

Leave a Reply

