knitting limbo

I’ve been in a bit of knitting limbo lately.  There are plenty of projects queued in Ravelry, many were included in my last post, but somehow I don’t have any suitable yarn in my stash, so can’t actually start anything.  Its been really bothering me.

Last Friday I had a sneaky day off, and spent it is a gorgeous spot down the coast, catching up with some of my favourite knitters.  On hearing of my dilemma they were concerned and within seconds we had Ravelry on the ipad and suggestions were flying thick and fast!  I drove home with a head full of ideas, and that night I ordered yarn for one project.  Collinette Jitterbug in Vatican Pie to make myself an Emilie

Saturday was guild.  I love my guild group.  Such a fabulously group of knitters.  I don’t know much about the politics of the NSW knitters guild, but the Inner City group rocks, and I really look forward to hanging out with my knitter peeps each month.  Yesterday we discussed our knitting plans for the year ahead.  The group was probably split between people with a Plan, and people without.  I have a Plan.  Cardigans for me, a garment each for the boys, and a big blankie for the sofa.  No socks.  I also want to enter something in the Easter Show again.  And make room for some whimsy too.

In the car on the way home, the idea for this popped into my head.  I had to cast on immediately.  The yarn is a mix of Jamieson & Sons Shetland Spindrift and Knitpicks Palette, leftovers from other projects.  The t-rex dino chart has been used before.  I found the peerie pattern on Ravelry.  Its for Ollie, who spends a lot of his days wearing a dinosaur tail and roaring at people.

Dinosaur Roar!

As a project I think it fits into the Plan nicely, ticking the “knit something for Ollie” and “whimsy” boxes, maybe even the “Easter Show” box if I can finish it in time.  I’m not 100% sure about the dino’s though…  Length-wise its at the armholes and I’m ready to start the steeks (eek!) but I think maybe the t-rex’s are too big.  Just not sure if I can face frogging almost the whole thing.  Surely Ollie won’t mind?

Grrrrrr!

Can you see the teeny tiny dino’s in the peerie rows?!

About crafting, with chocolate

I'm a thirty-something Australian with a mild craft obsession. I knit, I sew, I bake bickies with my kids, and four days a week I pretend to be a serious engineering professional. Its a full, frantic life, but I love it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to knitting limbo

  1. missfee says:

    i love the dinos and the little ones are just cute as – I dont think the large ones are too big.
    we should so do the cardie season thing – are you starting with the red one, I’m knitting vitamin d

  2. RoseRed says:

    He is going to LOVE that vest! It is too cute (and I don’t think the t-Rex is too big). Colours are great together.
    (but are you sure it is traditional fair isle, heh heh!)

  3. drk says:

    You are such a lovely knitter Z, look st your gorgeous little dinosaurs. And I can’t wait to see you wearing that Vatican pie cardigan!

Leave a Reply

