knitting in 2012: my first FO!

OK, so enough looking back at 2011… here’s my first finished project for 2012!

It’s for my newest niece, Florence.  It was one of those impulsive projects that just seem to happen.  We were about to set off to Wollongong to visit my brother and his family, and I had no knitting on the go (well, there is a cardigan, but we’re not speaking at the moment).  Five minutes later I had some pretty yarn from the stash, approximately the right size needles (I swear I have about five 3.25mm circulars but can I ever find one?  3mm will have to do) and a rough idea of how to many stitches to cast on for a 6-9 month size neckline.  I pretty much just started knitting, and this what I ended up with… Its looking a lot like a Baby Kina.

Flossie's Cardi

The yarn is Paddington, by Morris and Sons.  I bought it a few years ago, when I was pregnant with Ollie, but then decided it was a bit too girly for my little guy.  The pretty green is perfect for Flossie.  Its a merino-bamboo blend, really squishy and soft with great stitch definition.  The bamboo gives a lovely silky sheen to the finished fabric, but it will be interesting to see how it behaves when I block it as bamboo is notorious for growing (hopefully the slightly tighter gauge will help). 

Do you like the buttons?  I have a thing about fabric covered buttons, just love ’em. 

Ooh pretty!

So thats my first FO for 2012.  Just wish I could decide what to knit next, and quickly- my morning commute to work today totally sucked without any knitting!

About crafting, with chocolate

I'm a thirty-something Australian with a mild craft obsession. I knit, I sew, I bake bickies with my kids, and four days a week I pretend to be a serious engineering professional. Its a full, frantic life, but I love it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to knitting in 2012: my first FO!

  1. DrK says:

    Firstly, that is the cutest little girls name ever. And that little top is so so gorgeous. You are such a beautiful knitter Zena.*mutters bloody engineers*

  2. RoseRed says:

    I hesitate to say it, but, um, socks are the perfect commuter knitting…

    That cardi is TOO CUTE! I can’t believe you just made the pattern up! I think I’m with Kylie *bloddy engineers*! I will be interested to hear about the blocking, as I have some of this yarn for a cardi for Connor, which I am itching to start!

Leave a Reply

