Hello world!

Here I am.

I’m Zena, a thirty-something Australian with a mild craft obsession.  I knit, I sew, I bake bickies with my kids, and four days a week I pretend to be a serious engineering professional.  This blog is for the crafty stuff.

But why a blog, and why now?  As a kid I regularly got a diary from Santa, and on Christmas night I’d write a long dear diary entry, documenting what I had for breakfast and other important facts of the day.  I might write something on Boxing Day too.  And that would be it for the year.  I tried again as a teenager, but then it was more “I love him soooooo much but he doesn’t even know I’m alive (sob sob)”.  I’m embarrassed I was such a cliche, and I’m very glad those journals didn’t survive to taunt me.

So I don’t have a great history of keeping journal.  But I do love craft, and I love craft blogs.  And lately I’ve been composing blog posts in my head about my various projects.  So one of my new years resolutions for 2012 was to actually start a blog, and to make sure I post at least once a week.  The other resolution was to start running.  Wonder which one (if any) I manage to keep?!

I’m a mummy, to three small boys; Sam and Archie are four, Ollie is two.  They are gorgeous, amazing, clever, funny, independent little souls and I love them to bits.  They also challenge and frustrate me.  So while I am a mummy, I don’t want this to be a mummy blog.  Feel free to pull me up on it if you think I’m straying too far in that direction.

So that is me.  I’ll write a proper craft post tomorrow, with photos, provided I can work that one out.

About crafting, with chocolate

I'm a thirty-something Australian with a mild craft obsession. I knit, I sew, I bake bickies with my kids, and four days a week I pretend to be a serious engineering professional. Its a full, frantic life, but I love it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Hello world!

  1. DrK says:

    well hello and welcome to the blogosphere. im so glad youve made the leap, i think you heaps to offer and i know you make beautiful things. also, your boys are very cute, so i dont think we’ll complain about the occassional photo! the photos in wordpress are easy, just click on the camera icon above where you write your post, and you can upload From Computer or drag and drop them in, and then when you want to insert them, click on the camera again, choose Gallery, click SHOW and then INSERT into post once youve set the size and alignment etc.

    cant wait to see what you post first!!

  2. Knitdra says:

    Yay Zena good on you! I too kept journals like you described in my teenage years. And yes I’m glad none have survived.

  3. missfee says:

    yay Zena welcome to the blog land – and are you still up for our seasonal cardigan challenge?

  4. RoseRed says:

    Yay Zena! Can’t wait to read more of your knitting! Feel sure that it will add to my already stupidly long ravelry queue!

  5. Olivia Du Vernay says:

    Hello,you’re terrific person! I’m so amazed how you do all these with 3 kids and all! Please I would like to know about one of that green circle print skirt…where did you buy the materials ? I would like to get some so I can make the skirt its so pretty.Thanks you!

Leave a Reply

